top of page
  • Writer's pictureNOVA Cat Clinic

Does My Cat Need Health Insurance?

Does My Cat Need Health Insurance?

As with any insurance, the need for coverage depends on your risk aversion.

I came home one day and my cat was unable to use his rear legs.  I took him to the clinic and did the preliminary diagnostics – x-ray and blood work.  Everything appeared to be with in normal limits.

I took him to a neurologist.  They suggested an MRI to help determine why he was paralyzed.  I agreed and they found that he two slipped discs.  Surgery was suggested to help elevated the pressure on the nerves.

The MRI was $2000.  The surgery and overnight care was $5000 for a total of $7000.

He was a very special part of my life and friend.  I could not imagine euthanasia.  I was fortunate that he was insured and the company bore much of the cost.

Pet insurance does work a little differently than human. Much of that has to do with the fact cats are considered property.  So pet insurance has a lot in common with auto insurance.  If there is a preexisting condition, it will not usually cover the condition.  Most of the companies give you a month to cancel and get a refund. During that month, you can ask for underwriting to find out what is not covered.

The premium depends on your cats age and your zip code.  Deductible and total coverage will determine the rate.

For a 12-24 year old male with $0, the monthly cost would be $48.73.  With $200 deductible, it would be $30.79.  The companies make it easy to determine rates.

Here are couple of pet insurance companies if you would like to investigate.   Trupanion or Pet Plan

Most insurance is for catastrophic issue and do not cover wellness care.  Please feel free to call or email us to help answer any questions.

14 views0 comments
bottom of page